Meet Our Tutors

Janine

Biology | Chemistry | Mathematics

Prior to becoming a full-time educator, I pursued extensive studies in life and chemical sciences, and I have been rigorously trained to teach biology, chemistry, and mathematics both at the high school and university level. When it comes to helping my students, I am remembered for always putting my students first to get them ahead. With technology within our reach, I aim to leverage it as a tool to make learning math and science more engaging, interactive, and accessible; in hopes of increasing math and science literacy beyond classroom walls!

Marco

Chemistry | Mathematics

¡Hola, my name is Marco! I graduated from UCLA with a bachelor's degree in Chemistry. Although my major is chemistry, I actually find myself spending most of the time studying math rather than chemistry! During high school, I loved both math and physics, so I chose chemistry, which to me seemed like the middle ground between them. Outside of teaching, I like to take pictures of nature, play badminton, and watch Netflix. As an educator, I believe it is important to learn something new everyday. Recently, I have been learning Spanish. ¡El conocimiento es poder!

Ashley

Mathematics

I earned my bachelor's degree and I will complete my masters in math at the University of Minnesota. I'm interested in many areas of math, including calculus, linear algebra and discrete math. My main focus is on ordinary differential equations and I love helping students gain a better understanding of it. In my view, math is a fascinating subject which can be found everywhere in our daily lives. Did you know that there is an intrinsic math connection between a Kaleidoscope and a snowflake? Photography and dancing are my ways of enjoying life. You should definitely visit Minnesota one day, because it has so many beautiful lakes!

Garrett

Physics | Mathematics

Hi, my name is Garrett! I grew up in the south Chicagoland area and attended the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where I majored in Engineering Physics and minored in Mathematics. I then spent some time as a researcher at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in California before travelling to Penn State University to earn a master's in Physics. Now, I'm back in Chicago working as a freelance data scientist and tutor. I aim to recreate this positive and motivating environment with all of my students. In my free time, I enjoy playing the tuba, cooking, and spending time with my 18 year old cat, Asher.

Zhongda

Chemistry | Biology

I graduated from the University of Waterloo and did my Masters at the University of Toronto, where I studied how a fat storage organelle is controlled in cells. In my spare time, I love to consume all of the interesting food across the city of Toronto and I am constantly traveling across the world to sample different cuisines. Perhaps that’s also a reason why I studied fat storage? Keeping me company at home is my adorable Bengal cat, who is now almost 7 years old! While I hate to leave her, occasionally I step outside to play basketball in my co-ed team league.

Nnamdi

Mathematics | Statistics

My name is Nnamdi. I am a doctoral student at the University of Arkansas where I am pursuing a degree in Educational Statistics. I have a master's degree in Statistics from Montana State University (MSU). I have taught several introductory statistics and college algebra classes. I won two teaching awards as a graduate teaching assistant at MSU. Besides teaching and research, I enjoy hiking and soccer. I’m also a keen follower of world politics.

Jeffrey

Economics | SAT Preparation

I graduated from Cornell University with a bachelor's degree in Policy Analysis and Management and minors in both Business and Applied Economics. I will also be starting at Harvard Law School in the fall! In my studies, I spent a lot of time learning and applying microeconomic/macroeconomic principles to real-world scenarios. I started teaching from a very young age, having worked as an SAT instructor, a teaching assistant, and as a private tutor. Outside of teaching, I enjoy fitness and cooking and I'm looking forward to working with you!

Carma

Chemistry

Hey there! I have been teaching and tutoring chemistry and physical science courses online/remotely for over six years at the high school and college levels. I am also currently an Assistant Professor of Chemistry, tenure-track, at Chattanooga State Community College in Chattanooga, TN. I earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Chemistry, with a research emphasis in Biochemistry, at Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama. I also hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemical Engineering from Auburn University. My hobbies include cooking, reading novels, tennis, and going to tennis matches and basketball/football games.

Devashish

Physics | Mathematics | Engineering

I am an instrumentation engineer and I have completed my masters in energy studies. I love to teach while making an impact on young minds and finding the best ways to guide my students to reach their academic goals. I have completed my Masters degree from one of the highest-ranked university in India in engineering and one of the top 150 universities in the world. I’ve had a lot of experience helping high school students as well as college students with Mathematics (Calculus I & II), Physics, Mechanical and Electrical Engineering.

Houssem

Mathematics

My name is Houssem and I am your tutor for math. I have been in love with mathematics since high school, that is why I chose to do a bachelor of science in electrical engineering at the United States Naval Academy where I graduated as an engineer and as a naval officer. Teaching university students is something I have enjoyed so much over the years, and I hope I can covey all of my expertise and knowledge to you to help you achieve your goals. Looking forward to working with you!

Ifeoma

Mathematics | Chemistry

My name is Ifeoma Nwigwe Obiora. I have a PhD in Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry from Yale University. I truly enjoy interacting with students, and I have had the privilege to teach students at many academic levels (elementary to collegiate/graduate level). My teaching experience began as a student tutor at Douglass College, Rutgers University where I tutored many of my peers. During my time at Yale University, I tutored and taught at both the collegiate and high school level, and finally as a lecturer in Nigeria I have had the pleasure of training both undergraduate and graduate students.